eBay PS3 scam of the day: Hot_PS3s@hotmail.com sold for $890
Another day another eBay PS3 scam. Look, we know the supply of PlayStation 3s are limited and demand is high before the big, 4-day break. But folks please, a little caveat emptor... this is eBay for crissake. Oh sure, Schnezy's listing is dubious as hell: titled, "Sony PlayStation 3 PS3 NO RESERVE, HOT HOT HOT" and even supported by a picture of the console itself. And seeing all the features and specs spat out on the page certainly clutters the one, very important bit of text at the very bottom: "note: you are not bidding on an actual ps3, you're only bidding on an e-mail address (Hot_PS3s@hotmail.com), winning bidder will recieve password." But hey, you've gotta read the text son. So enjoy your new Hotmail email address Mr. Notoriousgoat(se?) -- it may be an $890 markup from free, but it's still cheaper than an email address for millionaires in the long run. Tip: enable spam filter.



















Reader Comments (Page 1 of 1)
Rick Lyon @ Nov 23rd 2006 9:30AM
That's crappy. Karma, I hope scum like this develop fatal deceases.
rey @ Nov 23rd 2006 9:20AM
First post!
And that sux, PWNED
Scott @ Nov 23rd 2006 9:20AM
Buzz Killington
Gadget Extremist @ Nov 25th 2006 5:51AM
Keep a close eye on his perfect 100% positive feedback and lets see if it drops down to 80%.
http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback&userid=schnezy&iid=230054444738&ssPageName=VIP:feedback:2:us
rwebbart @ Nov 23rd 2006 10:05AM
I emailed him and let him know what he bid on just in case he hadn't figured it out yet. I hope someone got to him quicker than me, as I am afraid this might be too late.
I think we should go oldschool on people like this and cut off their typing fingers when they try these scams.
Alex @ Nov 23rd 2006 10:26AM
note: you are not bidding on an actual ps3, you're only bidding on an e-mail address (Hot_PS3s@hotmail.com), winning bidder will recieve password
...Should have read the fine print. But it was very misleading.
Sarah Trent @ Nov 23rd 2006 10:41AM
Thanks for the link Johnny :-) Looks like a good site! Where can I join up? Can I simply register?
pvilleSE @ Nov 23rd 2006 10:49AM
I think this seller did lye, the email address does not meet the picture or the specs, at least the guy who sold the 3 Playstations didn't lye about specs or put up misleading pictures simply used words to trick a person not reading close enough but was very clear that you were buying Playstations, 3 of them.
iLLW!L @ Nov 23rd 2006 11:18AM
The contract is void, the mispelled 'received'
At least that what I would be saying if I were the one conned.
Danny @ Nov 23rd 2006 11:27AM
I see these all the time on ebay and ive contacted a few and told them. A few then say "No, im bidding on a PS3". It doesnt matter what you think you bidding on, the fact was they were bidding on an email address.
I also tell them they can register an entire domain name like hotps3s.co.uk for just 6
Why would anyone pay for a hotmail address. Really should read the auctions, I say power to the scammer on this one.
DEEZNUTZ @ Nov 23rd 2006 11:31AM
What happens if he just doesnt pay? Is it just a negative feedback?
CoryB @ Nov 23rd 2006 11:47AM
I think the seller also missed reading the fine print on Hotmail titled "Windows Live Serivce Agreement".
To quote that agreement: "19. Assignment.
We may assign this contract, in whole or in part, at any time with or without notice to you. You may not assign this contract, or any part of it, to any other person. Any attempt by you to do so is void. You may not transfer to anyone else, either temporarily or permanently, any rights to use the service or any part of the service."
Now if someone over at Microsoft was smart on this they would first sue the seller for every penny the got from the auction and then turn around and give the unlucky purchaser a free xbox 306 package. Play it up in the media a little, etc.
Sergio @ Nov 23rd 2006 1:36PM
Good call Cory, I completely forgot about hotmail's ToS =P
v_dogg @ Nov 23rd 2006 12:48PM
this guy needs to be shot
Sumit Goyal @ Nov 23rd 2006 1:23PM
I wud say CoryB got a gr8 point and serioursly if that buyer knows a single guy from microsoft then He is the final winner.
Xenophane @ Nov 23rd 2006 2:21PM
Who cares. Don't you have something better to talk about?
Bob Barker @ Nov 23rd 2006 3:13PM
no
I, Robot @ Nov 23rd 2006 3:36PM
I can't feel sorry for this guy; anyone can get taken, but come on? There is a g*ddam @ sign with-in the sentence, and a dot com at the end of it. Those 2 facts should have been evident enough that this wasn’t legit. How about the word “hotmail” – there shouldn’t have been ANY doubt at that point. I sorry, but are you stupid?
Danny @ Nov 23rd 2006 3:38PM
Ooo, its about to happen again, this time for nothing more than a photo
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BRAND-NEW-Sony-Playstation-3-PS3-Console-60GB-Picture_W0QQitemZ250053222109QQihZ015QQcategoryZ11328QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item250053222109
JBDragon @ Nov 24th 2006 12:59AM
This is almost as bad as Selling Empty PS3 Boxes on ebay! Even puting in LARGE Text Empty PS3 BOX, but with all the pictures, it also gets a high bid. People just don't pay attention.
h0mi @ Nov 24th 2006 1:14PM
What annoys me about ebay is that I bet this listing was under "systems" or "video games". Clearly this wasn't a video game for sale but an email address.
I've done ebay searches for cell phones and constantly got results on accessories or phones that weren't for the model I was looking for; imagine looking for a treo and you get blackberry batteries or models. Not very helpful, and it's an attempt by the seller to mislead people or otherwise attract their eyes.
Kalvin @ Nov 24th 2006 3:21PM
people should pay more attention to the fine prints in general