Defiance
In spite of its recent layoffs (or maybe because of them), Trion Worlds is plunging ahead with its Defiance promotions. Not only will Syfy be showing a six-episode Defiance-the-show marathon and recap special on Monday (that's May 27th from 4 to 11 p.m.), but Defiance-the-game will be on sale on Steam and available freely from today through Sunday to brand-new players. Players will also nab a second crack at the game's early episodic content, which starred the series' lead characters. Quoth the press release,
Gamers who have yet to explore the open world shooter can try it on PC for free on Steam from May 23rd at 10:00 a.m. PDT [1:00 p.m. EDT] to May 26th at 1:00 p.m. PDT [4:00 p.m. EDT]. [See below for update on times.] Steam is also offering a weekend long sale on Defiance for those whose thirst for alien technology and open world action isn't satisfied by the trial. Both the Standard Edition and Digital Deluxe Edition will be 30% off. In addition, Steam will also be running a sale on "Bits," the in-game currency for Defiance, during which customers will get more "Bits" for their money.
The studio notes that other retailers will feature independent sales but did not specifically say which ones.

[Source: Trion press release]

[Update #1: Readers are reporting that the free weekend on Steam is still not active. The times quoted here are exactly what the press release said, and they have come and gone. We've contacted Trion for clarification and will keep you posted when we actually know more.]
[Update #2: Trion's PR says it's aware of the problem on Steam and is trying to get to the bottom of it now.]
[Update #3: Trion says the new go-live time is now 4 p.m. PDT (7 p.m. EDT) Thursday.]
[Update #4: Happy Friday, peeps. Trion has just posted an official page for the Steam promotion complete with details on how to get signed up as a freebie player for the weekend.]

This article was originally published on Massively.
Ask Massively: The irony of media and betas