Latest in Gaming

Image credit:

Sega Mega Drive Ultimate Collection announced for early 2009

Jem Alexander

Sega has announced the Sega Mega Drive Ultimate Collection, which is heading to the PS3 in early 2009. The collection will contain over 40 classic Sega titles from the Mega Drive and Master System. Highlights include many Sonic titles, Golden Axe, Altered Beast, Shining Force and many others. We've placed the full list of games after the break for your perusal.

While many of you will have already played these games (many times), be it on the Gamecube, PSP, PS2 or on the original consoles, the Ultimate Collection will apparently output all titles at 720p. We're not sure exactly how these old games will look in high definition, but this will be the largest collection of Sega titles ever released together. For those of you that missed many of these titles throughout the years, this is the perfect opportunity to try some Sega classics for the first time.

The full list of games included in the Sega Mega Collection is as follows:

  • Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle
  • Alien Storm
  • Altered Beast
  • Beyond Oasis
  • Bonanza Bros.
  • Columns
  • Comix Zone
  • Decap Attack starring Chuck D. Head
  • Dr. Robotnik's MBM
  • Dynamite Headdy
  • Ecco the Dolphin
  • Ecco II: The Tides of Time
  • E-SWAT
  • Fatal Labyrinth
  • Flicky
  • Gain Ground
  • Golden Axe I
  • Golden Axe II
  • Golden Axe III
  • Kid Chameleon
  • Phantasy Star II
  • Phantasy Star III: Generations of Doom
  • Phantasy Star IV: The End of the Millennium
  • Ristar
  • Shining in the Darkness
  • Shining Force
  • Shining Force 2
  • Shinobi III: Return of the Ninja Master
  • Sonic 3D Blast
  • Sonic and Knuckles
  • Sonic Spinball
  • Sonic The Hedgehog
  • Sonic The Hedgehog 2
  • Sonic The Hedgehog 3
  • Streets of Rage
  • Streets of Rage 2
  • Streets of Rage 3
  • Super Thunder Blade
  • Vectorman
  • Vectorman 2

From around the web

ear iconeye icontext filevr