Latest in Cdn

Image credit:

Facebook starts really, truly deleting removed photos

27 Shares
Share
Tweet
Share
Save

Sponsored Links

For those who haven't kept track, Facebook has had a years-long history of only maybe-sort-of-more-or-less purging our photos: they could be removed from a profile, but they would sometimes float around the site's content delivery networks for months or years, just waiting for a prospective employer to spot those embarrassing frosh week snapshots by accident. As Ars Technica discovered through experiments and official remarks, that problem should now be solved. In the wake of a months-long photo storage system migration and an updated deletion policy, Facebook now won't let removed photos sit for more than 30 days in the content network stream before they're scrubbed once and for all. The improved reaction time isn't as rapid as for a service like Instagram, where photos vanish almost immediately, but it might be a lifesaver for privacy advocates -- or just anyone who's ever worn a lampshade on their head in a moment of insobriety.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Share
27 Shares
Share
Tweet
Share
Save

Popular on Engadget

Engadget’s guide to Home Entertainment

Engadget’s guide to Home Entertainment

View
The best outdoor security camera

The best outdoor security camera

View
After Math: Who turned the lights out?

After Math: Who turned the lights out?

View
Here's how Alexa learned to speak Spanish without your help

Here's how Alexa learned to speak Spanish without your help

View
Samsung's Galaxy Fold Premier Service debuts in the US

Samsung's Galaxy Fold Premier Service debuts in the US

View

From around the web

Page 1Page 1ear iconeye iconFill 23text filevr