Latest in Gaming

Image credit:

Capcom Arcade Cabinet lineup ends at the beginning


Capcom's planned releases of games for Capcom Arcade Cabinet come to an end today with Son Son and Pirate Ship Higemaru, illustrating the bizarre trajectory of Capcom's historical re-releases.

Rather than follow the history of the company in a linear fashion, Capcom released packs of games from 1987, then 1985, 1986, 1985 again, and finally 1984, with bonus games from 1988 and 1984 (Vulgus is Capcom's first arcade game). It's easy to overlook the haphazard plan behind these releases in favor of, you know, just enjoying some old games, but now that the push is over we're looking back for the first time and realizing: Capcom Arcade Cabinet is pretty odd.

From around the web

ear iconeye icontext filevr