Mac "G6" now available for $499
Want an Intel-based Mac but don't want to pay Apple's prices? A company called Red PCs may have what you're looking for -- if you're willing to face the wrath of Apple's lawyers. Red PC is now offering something they're calling a "PowerPC G6 Macintosh" for $499. According to the specs, the box is basically a generic Pentium-based PC running a hacked version of the Intel version of Mac OS X. For your $499, the company is also throwing in copies of Photoshop CS2 and Microsoft Office 2004, making this quite the deal, given that Photoshop alone can go for over $400. But, then, we assume you're prepared to deal with Adobe and Microsoft's lawyers as well if you're ready to buy this. Unfortunately (or fortunately, as the case may be), the Red PCs web site seems to be down, though the machine is still listed on the Alibaba.com site as available for purchase with free global shipping and a one-year warranty.[Via OSX86]






















...giggles... lots of giggles. Someone's spitting in Mac, MS and Adobe's face.
Let us see how far they can get before Mac puts and iPod up their azz, Bill Gates kicks the crap out of them with a Beta copy of Vista, and Adobe takes pictures of them, then Photoshops them so they make us believe they are having sweaty intercoarse with a chimpanzee and send the pics to rotten.com
I give it 17 hours. 16:59... 16:58...
Alexander Wunderlich
Why would you have to deal with anyone's lawyers? This is a pretty standard package of decent hardware and pirated software. You can find something similar in your local craigslist.
This is a total scam. Those components alone would be worth at least $900, and the case appears to have been mocked up in MSpaint.
Too funny :) I love the google ads that come with the note "Server Down".
Yeah it's a scam, they are also selling something called a Dolby Digital Live PC under the same image.
Meanwhile, this is simply the Maxxus hacked version of 10.4.3, so don't count on getting any software updates for it. Ever.
A PowerPC computer running and Intel processor.... Riiiiiight.
Microsoft and Adobe will only car if the software is illegal. It's the Apple NAZI group that you need to watch out for - with their nasty lawyers and white products.
Nasty lawyers? What, because these guys are using a stolen OS that's been hacked out the wazoo?
Isn't it just a matter of time before anything can be run on anything?
If you were crazy enough to shell out the cash for this, and by some miracle it was actually delivered to you (free global shipping!?) I still wouldnt expect this company to be around long enough to fulfil that 1 year warranty....
hey, i like the casing on this picture. where can i find it?
and the good thing.. they have 10,000 available to ship!!!
To anyone that wants one I'm going to Aliba Land Wednesday. So, start mailing your checks into me and I'll pick one up for you. In fact, I think Steve Jobs may be free next Wednesday so he may even be able to come over to your house and set it up for free. Please send checks to 84 Retard LN, Lost Valley, KI 90110
You should not even post this...
Anyone want to throw down the cash and order one of these? I wonder what would even show up at your door...
By posting this, you are increasing the chance that someone will be taken in by this scam. Shame on you.
Wow what happens with Apple, Microsoft, and Adobe stop their cold war for a second to collectively deal with this company? I don't even think they are going to send lawyers...the building is just going to up and disappear leaving a smoldering crater in its place.
On the plus side though I like the case.
Yeah, I wouldn't mess with apple now. After all, they're on a legal roll if you know what I mean.
You know these are probably available on every street corner in China.
That company has a nice selection of PC products too. Looks like an excellent source of products for ebay resellers.
Just ordered one! Thank's for the post.
Adobe CS2 and MS Office 2004 running on Intel version of Mac OSX? Do they even exist?
Cool computer, is it better than a IBM? Doubt it.
MARC, why would you or enGadget promote an illegal purchase like this? The specs are clearly fictitious (PowerPC Intel??), they are selling it with illegal copies of software (PhotoShop, Mac OS X) - and that all assumes you actually get anything when you send them your money! I'm disappointed in this site for posting this article the way it's worded, practically encouraging people to purchase it.
Office 2004? What the heck is that?
Haha.
According to the specs it has a 3800MHz Pentium 4 Prescott PowerPC.
LOL
You guys have no idea what your talking about. This PC is GREAT. I ordered one two weeks ago and it is the best purchase I ever made. I just ordered 20 more for my brother's company. China has nothing to do with it.
Just went to the site. They are out of business.
So tell me, why didn't they use this case instead?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811164060
Before anyone try...
Alibaba.com it's a so-called trade-only posting site. Although registration is required, the administrators do not and cannot guarantee the authenticity of the posts and it's authors. Take a few minutes and read the many postings and you'll see a variety of odd "buyers wanted" adds from companies/manufacturers mostly from the Middle East and South Asia {Indonesia} that sound like common garage sale adds. Not very professional, IMO.
If you're a businessman and want global exposure for your company and your products, the proper way to advertise is with Global Sources, inc. Global Sources is well know by enterprenaurs worldwide and requires ALL SELLING applicants to register and summit a full company profile with them and it's products which MUST be legal before allowing access. The company review each application and after verification, if everything is accurate they get approved and the company is allowed access to promote their business with them.
Like many of you had point out is clearly a scam, for a product to emulate another they must be fully license by it's owner{s}/inventor{s} and the adds must specified which regions the product can be sold before listing them for sale or distribution in a questionable web site like Alibaba.com. Something is very fishy, that's why their web site is down. So Caveat Emptor.
Why are you even justifying this thing with "Mac" in the headline? Shame on you (Perton) Engadget.
So, who is going to sue thhis company first: Apple or Pontiac
well it does say both bogus and ripoff in the tags so they are at least putting it in there somewhere
Karl, Skippy, Brad, David...
Shut up.
Anyone dumb enough to try to order something like this deserves to be ripped off. Maybe it will lead to a downward spiral of events that lead to sterility so they can never reproduce.
Probably not, but I can always pray. HARD.
Mine just came today... it is SWEET! I'm ordering a couple more right now before they get sued & shut down.