The countdown to CES begins!


So yeah, if you haven't already noticed by the slew of news today (and our liberal use of the CES category), we're just days away from the biggest week of the year for consumer electronics (and, of course, Engadget).

Naturally, we'll be swarming the joint bringing the freshest, most up to the second coverage on all the new 2008 gear -- but to make things easier for everyone reading, we're also rolling out a few improvements to the site. We'll be back shortly with the details.

Like you'd expect, we'll be covering press events in real time, but they'll be over at Engadget instead of Engadget HD, so now you know where to look for live coverage when HD DVD and Blu-ray kick off their press events.

In the mean time, take a moment now to sit back and relax. Because once we really get started, things are going to get a little crazy. And geeky.

Sunday, January 6th
All day - Almost all other press conferences. If it's a major company, they'll probably be holding their press conference on Sunday, so stick close by for the likes of Pioneer, Panasonic, Samsung, Toshiba, and LG.
4:00PM PT / 7:00PM ET - Sony's CES keynote.
6:30PM PT / 9:30PM ET - Bill Gates's 12th and final CES keynote (probably). Not to be missed!
8:30PM PT / 11:30pm ET - HD DVD Promotion Group

Monday, January 7th

5:00pm PT / 8:00PM ET - Blu-ray