Van Der Led's Jisus laptop is the answer to your prayers
The Jisus laptop? We're asking ourselves the same questions you are. We've never heard of Van Der Led, and we've certainly never heard of the Jisus -- but boy are we intrigued. Apparently, the multi-colored (and multi-graphic'd) little guys will feature an 800 x 480, 8.9-inch LCD display, a 1GHz Loongson CPU (???), 512MB of RAM, 4GB of flash storage, 802.11b/g, stereo speakers, and a whole slew of familiar ports. The Eee-wannabe will apparently come with Ubuntu pre-installed (though frankly it's unclear), and will be retailing for €299 when it hits the streets (the European streets, that is) on April 25th. Check the video after the break to see odd, ominously silent images of the device, accompanied by fascinating data.
[Thanks, Gydo]
[Thanks, Gydo]



















Nintendo's gonna file suit for that design... (I seriously thought that was a picture of DS Lites)
Just because you're dumb does not mean they will file suit. ;)
zing
Suits have been filed for dumber reasons though.
You need to accept jisus into your life!
I seriously thought it was a wallet.
the whole reason to up the screen size to 9 inches is to get the resolution up from 800x480. fail.
I thought they were toys at first. I mean, like 1.5" across.
No kidding. They look like Barbie accessories.
That was the most interesting video I've ever watched.
I'll wait for the Jebus laptop.
or Jesus laptop...
will it walk on water?
Can it turn water into wine for me?
Loongson CPU? Okay, what on Earth is that?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loongson
Linux Box CPU!
No thanks. I don't hate Linux, I just like Windows better.
Plus 800x480 on a 7" screen is justifiable but not on a 9" screen
i wonder what the lead content is like....
The more fragmented the ISA market, the better. It highlights the importance of writing portable code or sticking to web apps..
Lead? Why, cuz it's Chinese AND looks like a cheap toy?
From the wikipedia article we learn that the Longsoon CPU is also known as Godson ...
Ahh, Godson = Jisus
I originally thought "what's with all the faux-Christian imagery", but then I remembered that the West thinks nothing of using Greek/Roman/Norse god-names for stuff. I guess the Chinese see the Abrahamic religions as similar mythologies from which to mine names.
I can't imagine the "Jisus" selling well in Europe, though.
@ Mario
"I can't imagine the "Jisus" selling well in Europe, though."
Say it to yourself. It's clearly aimed at the Australian market.
Dammit, I'm going to have to change my display icon from QVGA sucks to WXGA sucks.
WXGA (800x 480) is OK for cell phones .. NOT for laptops. It's pointless to have laptop with WXGA unless you are only using it for email (NOT web browsing or document creation). Unfortunately not many people are aware .. so these laptops are a ripoff to whoever wastes their money on it.
http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=vanderled.com&tld=com
Pretty sure this is EXACTLY the same thing as the upcoming 9" Eee PC, just rebranded.
MIPS
http://www.linux.com/feature/119890
It's an article on the CPU mentioned above.
I'll take the green and brown colours for their ability to not blind me in the sun (white), nor cook my computer (black). I dislike flash-based computers in their current forms, so would prefer a HD, tho.
I wonder how that 4h:30min batt life was measured. Loongson CPU. Interesting.
ooo... perrty.
I'm gonna have to take the plunge on one of these sub-laptops pretty soon. Wish list: nice design (nice aesthetics, approx 2 lbs), atom processor, XP, 8+" screen, $400.
You said it, man. Nobody fucks with the Jisus.
I can't wait for the Boodha or the Ghundi
This thing can't run windows, so i'd rather go with Eeee.
A little happy with the E's are we?
Yea, sorry, i saw it but there's no edit button cuz Engadget's comment system is years behind.
sad 'cause it's true.....
Seems the EeeeeeePC has some competition. Plus these come in lovely colours :)
For those of you who aren't familiar with Loongson processors, they're chinese made and really low horsepower, do not be fooled by the 1Ghz clock speed. In addition, they're not x86 chips so you won't really be running anything on it that doesn't come with it.
If they come with ubuntu and they have prepared an universe repository, "what they come with" is quite a good number of apps for most needs.
Failing that, there are still a debian port and an unofficial gentoo one, so it can probably run a good percentage of foss apps out there.
Loongson? from China?
kiss yo momma with that mouth? ;p
Too off brand for my taste. It is like buying Fruit O's when Fruit Loops are on sale....why not get the quality?
Looks thick enough to stop a barrage of bullets...
500 bucks for that? No thanks. You can a semi decent dell/equivalent for that.
I looked up Loongson and their progress is amazing, but since they don't use x86 architechture, it seems alot of compilers (werent when the articles I read were written) don't utilize the full potential.
I'd really like to see benches under linux with different apps and dif. optimizations, I wanna know more about these things.
so basically an EeePC reboxed and relabeled a "miracle" uh?
I think you mean Van De Lay Industries. I thought they were in latex...
they even have art on the cover
Whichever products that make end-users happier.
Loongson CPU = there's lead in that paint.
At first I thought those things were wallets.
Umm May 25th? not April :D someone got a bit too distracted by the cute penguin behind the release date!
Umm... yeah. Somebody should've WTFV before WTFA.
Five bucks says you won't.
*EDIT* You won't get either that is.
Jisus Saves! NOT!!
I thought it was a coincidence, but they actually used "be the first to own a miracle".
God and Jesus are standing by to sue...
No x86, no 1024, not dirt cheap, no 3G no thanks.
no 3g? there a lotta lappies with 3G these days, esp. ultra-cheap ones? i think that's like saying
"yeah, not gonna buy the hyundai. poor reliability, poor styling, and it doesn't have a V12".
"Loongson CPU (???)"
it's a Chinese-developed cpu and its chinese is "龙芯"
which means "the heart of the dragon" or dragon heart
Another cheap sub that I want buy... I think I'll keep with sony even that there prices are about 5x more...
Well, Dutch ( producers of 'Jesus' :) ) surely do know well to smell where the money is. UMPC will be new major tech - 'hipe' following years, when HP 2133, ECS G10IL, MSI Wind...reach the market.
They now that Eee, now almost 8 months after introduction, is hardly to be found in stores in Europe, so they are launching their own version of it. Just not very competitive model: again 800X480, 4G, 512MB RAM...only...It was great for Eee 701 4GB when it appeared back in August 2007...but I think producers and more importantly people who wonna get one of them now wants something more in the sense of: proffy-appealing look, better screen resolution, much bigger memory, battery life of 5 hrs. minimum...and all of that in the range up to eur 500 ( price in Europe).
So, new ''Jesus'' : ...to little, to late...
Sorry, Dutch...maybe with another try in future...BUT NOT SO DUTCHY, PLEASE :)
Ya, just wait till the iSlam comes out and witness the unholiest of brand wars develop :p
Sack that marketing department!
I agree these look like toys. Something an 5-8 yr old would be drawn to. Maybe that is the market they are going for?
jisus!
Well if it's made in China and is colorful, it uses lead paint and components. So yes, it's for the children.
- No Windows installable.
- Crappy resolution
- Only 4Gb of storage with *no* additional SD card slot
Verdict: Miserable failure.
Does it turn my Window into Wine?
You sir win the game.
anchor pass
funny, go to http://vanderled.com and I get a virus warning
sure this is for real?
I am not sure whether this website or even this company is really true, or exists physically. First of all it seems highly impossible for a company producing LED light to gain a whole technology to develop UMPC or mobile, considering that the hardware structure used is also quite unusual.
This company just come out of oblivion. All the information is based on one website, without any voice from the media. This looks quite strange if the product they offer are really true.
And the website is crappy too. In their products page:
http://vanderled.com/uk.php?p=products
none of the link really work. No information whatever. Well, they have a online store, there you can find some basic info. Quite strange the price for all the LED light are zero! I don't think they are really doing business and I doubt if I can really receive anything if I paid.
Consider this: the ordering on the online store is only possible with PayPal. The 'About us' page contains no information where this company really is. And the 'Contact' page contains even no telephone or fax number, no email address whatever. All you can do is fill in some forms and let the company, if there is one, contact you. I don't think I dare to order something from such a website.
I don't know Dutch but someone suggest that this company is not registered.
Look into the comments on the online store sort out one interesting point:
http://vanderled.com/onlinestore/product_reviews_info.php/products_id/81/reviews_id/4
Seems that the company is in Rotterdam but HOW CAN HE KNOW THIS? There is not a word about where this company really is on the website.
In a word, it highly possible that the website, the company and its products are just fabrication.