iTreo 800p available on eBay: L@@K
Well whaddya know? The iTreo 800p is finally selling on eBay! We thought the day would never come that we could actually get our hands on this totally sweet -- and absolutely real -- phone. Man were we wrong. Sure, the listing says you're selling off a Treo 800W, but given the large amount of completely reassuring blue text, scrolling text, and large font text, we'll happily accept that we will, in fact, receive the device pictured above via UPS Next Day Air. So, yes. Yes. We will "buy it now" for $349.99, safe in the knowledge that by this time tomorrow, we'll be the only guy on our block busting out the iTreo 800p at parties, pool halls, and any place else where all the happenin' stuff happens. Thanks "naseemajid" -- you're A+++++ in our book.
Update: It appears the eBay auction has been pulled. We can't imagine why.
[Thanks, Spencer]
Update: It appears the eBay auction has been pulled. We can't imagine why.
[Thanks, Spencer]

















Reader Comments (Page 1 of 2)
aaron @ Aug 17th 2008 10:28PM
killer....
hardly.
Tamtalk @ Aug 18th 2008 2:35AM
since relating to ebay and killer, i found a gold l800i iPhone clone on ebay here... http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&Item=330263016322&Category=3312&_trksid=p3907.m29
j_g_puff @ Aug 18th 2008 3:45AM
What, you didn't know that they were launching exclusively on eBay?
Lind Toms @ Aug 18th 2008 3:52AM
found same L800i sciphone for less here: http://www.mp3nmp4.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=1695&HS=1
steven @ Aug 17th 2008 10:32PM
does it come with an on-screen AND tactile keypad?
thedesolate1 @ Aug 17th 2008 11:34PM
Its a miracle of modern engineering!
a Marvel even!
JD @ Aug 17th 2008 10:36PM
love that the "secure" ordering form is not only NOT secure, but also wants your SS#
keyboardstyli @ Aug 17th 2008 10:38PM
Actually (&/or seriously), if Palm would be able to even possibly conjure this design idea (but not directly ripping or cross-breeding it the way this pic looks), it would've been really something very interesting perhaps!
Bibojim @ Aug 17th 2008 10:38PM
Wow plus they want you to complete an online credit approval before purchase. Say hello to identity theft!
John @ Aug 17th 2008 10:40PM
I'm sorry, but I don't see what you did there...
Bunson @ Aug 17th 2008 10:40PM
Jesus.
Bunson @ Aug 17th 2008 10:53PM
I just realized I haven't read an article I give a shit about in the last several weeks on this website.
Hmmmm, anyone have any tech blog recommendations?
lolec @ Aug 17th 2008 11:08PM
techcrunch.com lifehacker.com or engadget mobile :)
eric @ Aug 17th 2008 10:42PM
does it have copy & paste?
computer.dude.28 @ Aug 18th 2008 2:47AM
sort of. It can copy, it just can't paste.
zzz @ Aug 18th 2008 4:27AM
Yeah, it makes delicious pasta.
themovielife @ Aug 17th 2008 10:43PM
So it's actually a blackberry pearl?
chaos_templar @ Aug 17th 2008 10:44PM
Since there are no iphone/itunes/iupdates news to post about, this pointless ebay listing of a con makes a story?
In my book, engadget is going down an iTube more and more every day....
dennyg @ Aug 17th 2008 10:46PM
Let's see........... He says it's a Blackberry Pearl, calls it a Treo (iTreo at that) and shows iPhone icons. Any body would be as dumb as a box of rocks to fall for that line, not to mention the identity theft indications.
Jeff @ Aug 17th 2008 10:51PM
Your synopsis of this read eerily similar to a Bud Light "Real Men of Genius" ad.
Will H. @ Aug 17th 2008 10:52PM
Lol at the other image in the gallery - apparently the iTreo is running Windows Mobile as well, that's awesome!
http://i4.ebayimg.com/04/i/001/01/6b/cb77_1.GIF
Eric @ Aug 18th 2008 12:34AM
Instead of Boot Camp, it has "Army Recruitment Tent," and boots Windows or OS X mobile versions.
mark @ Aug 17th 2008 10:52PM
Who gives a fuck? Why was my time wasted reading this garbage. If I want to see stupid ebay auctions, I'd go to ebay.
Shane Ronan @ Aug 17th 2008 11:23PM
You tell me... I doubt anyone held you down and forced you to read the article.
Kspraydad @ Aug 18th 2008 12:16AM
Damn it...If I wanted to read comments by Mark I'd to to markisanfingtool.com. Now stop.
Jordan @ Aug 17th 2008 10:55PM
LOLz this is so stupid, I sent him a message on ebay asking how they can sell this fake crap and I also filled out the forum that they say is "secure" but really isnt with a bunch of insulting words!! HAHA
Homeslice @ Aug 17th 2008 10:57PM
But will it run Crysis? I think not.
Fernando @ Aug 17th 2008 10:57PM
ring ring, there was a post about this already, no?
artisan555 @ Aug 17th 2008 11:07PM
check out the seller's ebay store. he's also selling diet pills. . . you do the math.
Derek @ Aug 17th 2008 11:08PM
This guy got 2,189 views from this. Can you guys post one of my auctions here too? :)
Mitch @ Aug 17th 2008 11:11PM
The description says it's a Blackberry Pearl 8130.... wtf?
BigD145 @ Aug 17th 2008 11:19PM
Slow news day. Time for a snooze.
michas_pi @ Aug 17th 2008 11:26PM
Article is A++++++++++, would read again.
Chris @ Aug 17th 2008 11:42PM
Throw in a 3G at the end of the name and I'm sold!
collegekid13 @ Aug 17th 2008 11:44PM
Fake
sighs and walks away
icepop4who @ Aug 18th 2008 9:07AM
really? did you figure that out all by yourself?
Shadyman @ Aug 17th 2008 11:44PM
"This listing (160266555291) has been removed or is no longer available. Please make sure you entered the right item number.
If the listing was removed by eBay, consider it canceled. Note: Listings that have ended more than 90 days ago will no longer appear on eBay."
FAIL!
Shadyman @ Aug 17th 2008 11:45PM
I'm speaking about the "seller", of course.
A+++++ FAIL
thak @ Aug 17th 2008 11:45PM
nothing to see here...move on....ebay pulled it.
El Taco @ Aug 17th 2008 11:52PM
did anyone else read that title and think "Laak? wtf is that supposed to mean?"
cesium @ Aug 17th 2008 11:53PM
no
Gman @ Aug 18th 2008 12:12AM
L@@K on ebay auction titles means "look at." It is very annoying and unprofessional, and people who use it generally sell crappy items. BTW - how long has the comment entry interface been like this, I didn't get to check Engadget for a few days, when did it change?
MAd-Milk @ Aug 18th 2008 12:12AM
This listing (160266555291) has been removed or is no longer available. Please make sure you entered the right item number.
????
Gman @ Aug 18th 2008 12:13AM
eBay most likely realized the obvious (the item is fake) , and removed it.
Kspraydad @ Aug 18th 2008 12:12AM
Pulled my ass. Which one of you guys bought all the stock so you could resell with a mark up. Damn you.
Prokanda @ Aug 18th 2008 12:35AM
You actually made me laugh. Awesome.
Samuel Wat @ Aug 18th 2008 12:21AM
Does it have copy n' paste?
Kspraydad @ Aug 18th 2008 12:24AM
Did you just copy and paster Eric?
Jordan @ Aug 18th 2008 12:59AM
This is the reply I got when I asked how they can sell that fake stuff "I am an authorized Sprint Dealer the second photo is the actual phone for sell. The first photo is an option depending on what operating software you choose to use. It comes Brand New directly from Sprint. With a contract only.
Kind Regards "
handholder @ Aug 18th 2008 1:15AM
turns out its a false auction,palm called off.