DNP Secretli for iOS will make Facebook photos selfdestruct after a set period of time

If you often partake in social activities -- particularly those involving alcohol -- you may have a horror story about compromising Facebook photos. A new iOS app, Secret.li, sets out to limit the lifespan of those sensitive images, letting you delete the evidence before your boss (or parents) finds out. Hoping to capitalize on Facebook privacy concerns, the team behind Secret.li has taken a page out of Snapchat's book with selectively shared "timebombed" photos. After choosing your security filter and time limit, Secret.li will ping your friends via Facebook with a short-lived photo without storing the image or associated metadata to its servers. (It's worth nothing that there's nothing stopping your friends from capturing your photos and saving them for future blackmail, though.) You can check out the full press release after the break or download the free app at the source link below.

Show full PR text

Secret.li – a new way to share photos privately with your Facebook friends

New iOS app 'timebombs' images which can be shared with selected friends or fans securely

London, UK: 11th July 2013, 2.15pm BST – Are you someone who uses Facebook to connect with friends and family but are sometimes put off by the lack of privacy when it comes to your photos? Does it bother you that photos from your prom party might show up in background searches by a potential employer? Would you like to be able to share photos with selected friends privately and securely?

Enter Secret.li, a new iOS app launched globally today designed to create a new environment where photos can be shared via Facebook securely and with the people you choose. Available to download for free from the App Store, Secret.li allows users to snap an image or upload from the iPhone library, place a secure filter to protect the image, choose a time limit in which it can be viewed and then share with selected Facebook friends. Chosen friends will receive an in-app & Facebook notification to let them know an image is waiting for them.

So, how secure are the photos being shared? The answer is very:

· Photos shared through Secret.li aren't visible at any time when being sent to contacts- only the filtered version is visble to designated friends on Facebook

· No clear copy of the photo or the metadata associated with the photo is stored on any of the servers used by the app. This protects users from tracking and tagging.

· Photos are destroyed at the end of the validity determined by the user

'Social networks have made each one of us a publisher. Publishing our own content couldn't be easier," said Deepak Tewari, representing Secret.li. "We normally share photos in a certain context and with a certain audience in mind. With the sheer volumes of photos being shared and the complex relationships between people, the context and the intended audience are soon lost to us. Thus privacy becomes obscure and we often hear of people concerned about say an employer viewing their prom photos. Hence we created Secret.li to put privacy control right back in the hands of the user."

And it's not just consumers who can take advantage of the secure sharing environment that Secret.li creates.

"We can really see a huge benefit for brands and celebrities in using Secret.li. For household names, musicians and footballers, Secret.li offers a new way to engage on a personal basis with their fans by offering a sneak peak of their latest album cover, photo shoot or one from their everyday lives," continued Deepak. "The likes of Twitter and Instagram has brought fans closers to their idols and Secret.li fits in perfectly with this."

Secret.li is available to download for free on the App Store. For more information about Secret.li, please visit www.secret.li.