Medison Celebrity, $150 of Linux laptop for the people
Apparently you don't need to be a non-profit crazy, or nab few million pre-orders, to sell a laptop for $150 (or maybe you do, see update below). Medison, a Swedish consulting company, has just unveiled its Medison Celebrity laptop, which sports standard hardware, a 14-inch WXGA screen, an optimized Fedora Linux install, and a downright criminal $150 pricetag. Sure, you're not going to be launching Crysis on this thing anytime soon, with a 1.5GHz Celeron processor, 256MB of RAM, and VIA PN800 integrated graphics, but the casual user should find plenty to keep them occupied, and there's room for Windows XP if you want to pony up for a license -- which at retail costs more than the laptop itself. There's 40GB of storage, a CD / DVD combo drive, 802.11g WiFi, and even what looks to be a built-in webcam in the pictures. These'll be shipping in the US and Europe in 4-6 weeks. Oh, and in case it hasn't sunk in yet: $150.
Update: The more we look into this one, the more it looks like a scam, with an oh-so-tiny air of believability -- perhaps just wishful thinking. Check out comments for the ongoing investigation, but at the moment we're thinking guilty until proven innocent.
[Thanks, Jakob]
Update: The more we look into this one, the more it looks like a scam, with an oh-so-tiny air of believability -- perhaps just wishful thinking. Check out comments for the ongoing investigation, but at the moment we're thinking guilty until proven innocent.
[Thanks, Jakob]























I just Ordered One, i will wait 1 month to see if they deliver, if dont i will cancel my order with 2checkout. Because it worth the try.
Past year i went to Buy a Laptop at BestBuy in the US, it was a Turion with 120G on HDD, 1G RAM, DVD Burner etc.. it was on special for $319.99 US Dlls, and Bestbuy gets money from those $319.99. The point is that Bestbuy got the laptop at a lower price around $280 probably and that was an Acer Laptop with 1G on RAM 120G on HDD etc...
So for me, this laptop from medison celebrity can be very true, since proccesor is a celeron of 1.5, 256 on RAM 40G hdd.
This worth a try, since i spend more on smokes and coca cola in a month than what im paying now.
I will let you know guys if this was a scam or true.
And sorry for my english but im from Mexico.
This does sound to good to be true howeved I bought one. 2che3ckout.com is a reputable reseller and they are handeling all of the transactions. they wont charge your credit card until they are sure the merchandise is delivered.. Seems safe enough for me.
Hey all. I living in Denmark, next to Sweden and been living in SWE for 10 years, so I know a littel about the land. And I can tell you all about this is "150 $ laptop" is Fishy, I been using 4 days now, tracking resells, firm leeds, adreese, compayns, IT IS ALL FAKE OR FALSE. It even says in the ad "Don't try to kontat me posenal, respet my privaty" yaaa right!!! good way to say, I AM RUNNIG WHIT YOUR MONEY. By the way this has been removed from the home page, Now. HQ in England. Factory in Brasil. and Adreese in Sweden. NO WAY THIS IS FOR REAL. This is my belives. PS. Sorry for my bad english.
Acho meio estranho.. mandei varios emails perguntando sobre entrega e não tive resposta alguma... dúvido muito
I want bye it, but i live in Viet Nam!! Please help me!
i've sent info@medisoncelebrity.com 3 emails that have been ignored. There's an autoreply that's there [almost] before i hit send, but this is totally a scam. i think its all going into Haxornick89's trust fund.
How is that? There is no money changing hands until the computer ships. I have to wonder now exactly how may people are incapable of reading and comprehending what they read.
How is that? well i was trying to be funny. You see haxornick89's trust fund is funny because he is so adamant that this isn't a scam that he's got to have a finger in this pie.
how many people are incapable of taking things with a grain of salt? go leaves, eh?
Medison's website is now a parked domain. I think that puts the matter finally to rest. Medison is not a real company, and never was.
It's still working. I was just on there a few moments ago. Considering putting in an order, but decided to see what people are saying and see if someone actually has one.
The web site looks just like it always did to me. I ordered a long time ago, but no computer yet. I have an email that said hopefully the first week in Sept and it's now the first week in Oct. So I don't guess I'll get anything for Christmas. Oh well, if it ships it ships, if not, nothing lost.
Won't happen. PC2Order suspended their account last month, till orders ship.
And another person says he cancelled his order on October 1, after the same day PC2Order told him orders still not gone out and still no ship date from them.