AC/DC LIVE: Rock Band Track Pack on Nov. 2 at Wal-Mart and Sam's Club [update]

Justin McElroy
J. McElroy|09.30.08

Sponsored Links

Justin McElroy
September 30th, 2008
AC/DC LIVE: Rock Band Track Pack on Nov. 2 at Wal-Mart and Sam's Club [update]
Update 2: The "Track Pack" has been confirmed by Harmonix and MTV Games and will be available exclusively at Walmart and Sam's Club beginning in November*. The AC/DC LIVE: Rock Band Track Pack will be available in the U.S. on Nov. 2nd for Xbox 360, PS3 and PS2 and on Nov. 16th for Wii. The disc will retail for $39.88 for Xbox 360, PS3 and Wii and $29.88 for PS2.

The AC/DC LIVE: Rock Band Track Pack will also be available at most major retailers in Europe, Australia and New Zealand in early December. All tracks from the disc will be available for play in Rock Band and Rock Band 2 by entering a special export authentication code for the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions.

*AC/DC's forthcoming album, Black Ice, will be available exclusively at Wal-Mart and Sam's Club on Oct. 20th for $11.88, as well as on the band's website.

(Full track listing and original post after the break!)

Master recordings from various live performances (remixed by Mike Fraser; 99 mins.):
  • "Thunderstruck"
  • "Shoot to Thrill"
  • "Back in Black"
  • "Hell Ain't a Bad Place to Be"
  • "Heatseeker"
  • "Fire Your Guns"
  • "Jailbreak"
  • "The Jack"
  • "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap"
  • "Moneytalks"
  • "Hells Bells"
  • "High Voltage"
  • "Whole Lotta Rosie"
  • "You Shook Me All Night Long"
  • "T.N.T."
  • "Let There Be Rock"
  • "Highway To Hell"
  • "For Those About to Rock (We Salute You)"
Original: The New York Times is reporting that MTV has signed a deal with AC/DC to add an expansion pack with 18 of the band's songs exclusively to Wal-Mart stores in support of the group's new album "Black Ice." The disc, officially titled AC/DC Live: Rock Band Track Pack, will be released for all the consoles and will retail for, according to the Wal-Mart site, "from $29.88." The songs are taken from the DVD "AC/DC Live at Donnington," you can find a track list after the jump.

... So, at what point during all the Rock Band fans freaking out about being able to import songs into Rock Band 2 was this confusing? No one wants a bunch of Rock Band discs lying around their house! We really thought this was an area where EA "got it" and Activision had lost the plot, but it seems we were wrong.

For now, the only ones that will be affected are AC/DC fans, and they were probably too busy rushing out to get their schoolboy outfit dry cleaned to read the second graph. But we really, really hope this isn't the start of a trend.

Update: A couple of our commenters have spotted this in the fine print: "Go Beyond the Disc! - The Xbox 360 and PS3 versions ship with a code on the back of the game manual that lets you import all of the songs into the Rock Band or Rock Band 2 game environment (Internet connection required)." Sounds great! But the 360 is listed for $39.88. Isn't that still way pricey?

[Thanks, Daniel]
All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Popular on Engadget