Aereo confirms Atlanta launch on June 17th, will be third city to receive streaming service

Sponsored Links

Aereo confirms Atlanta launch on June 17th, will be third city to receive streaming service

It's still a long way from the 22 cities it hopes to launch in this year, but Aereo's expansion of its live TV streaming service beyond its NYC base is now moving steadily ahead. It's set to go live in Boston tomorrow, and the company has confirmed today that Atlanta will be next in line on June 17th. That's when the service will be available in the city to those who've pre-registered, with everyone else invited to sign up on June 24th. As you may recall from yesterday, the company's also slightly revised its pricing plans ahead of the expansion, with the $12 per month rate now netting you 60 hours of storage instead of 40, while the $8 rate remains the same as before at 20 hours. You can find all the specifics on the Atlanta rollout in the press release after the break.

Show full PR text

Aereo Sets Launch Date for Atlanta

Atlanta Will Be the Third City to Launch Aereo's Groundbreaking Technology

More Than 5.3 Million Atlanta Metropolitan-Area Consumers Will Have Access to Aereo's Innovative Antenna Technology to Watch Live Television Online

Starting June 17, Pre-Registered Consumers Will Begin to Receive Invitations to Join Aereo; General Membership Access Begins on June 24
ATLANTA, GA--(Marketwired - May 14, 2013) - Aereo, Inc., today announced plans to launch its groundbreaking online television technology in the Atlanta metropolitan region. Beginning June 17, consumers who have pre-registered with Aereo will receive a special invitation to join and be one of the first to experience Aereo's technology. After June 24, Aereo will make membership available to all eligible consumers across the Atlanta designated market area (DMA), which includes more than 5.3 million consumers in 55 counties across Georgia, Alabama and North Carolina. Atlanta joins Boston as the third city to launch as part of Aereo's expansion announced in January.

"We're grateful and humbled by the continued support we've received from consumers for our technology," said Aereo CEO and Founder Chet Kanojia. "The response and enthusiasm from consumers across all of our expansion cities has been phenomenal. It's clear that consumers want more choice and flexibility in how they watch television and they don't want to be fenced into expensive, outdated technology. Aereo's antenna/DVR technology brings the old-fashioned antenna into the 21st Century, providing consumers access to the over-the-air broadcast signals that belong to them. We're thrilled to be coming to Atlanta and look forward to our launch in June."

Aereo's innovative remote (cloud-based) antenna/DVR technology makes watching television simple and user-friendly. Using Aereo's technology, consumers can pause, rewind and fast-forward any program that they are watching live, or save a program for future viewing. In Atlanta, there are 27 over-the-air broadcast channels accessible through Aereo's antenna/DVR technology, including major networks such WSB-HD (ABC), WAGA-TV (FOX), WXIA-TV (NBC), WGCL-TV (CBS) and WPBA (PBS); special interest channels such as France24, BounceTV, MyTV, and AntennaTV; and Spanish-language broadcast channels such as Univision, MundoFox, and UniMas. In addition, consumers can also add Bloomberg Television, for a total of 28 channels.

Aereo works on 'smart' devices from tablets to phones to laptop computers. Aereo is currently supported on iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch, Chrome, Internet Explorer 9, Firefox, Safari, Opera, AppleTV (via airplay) and Roku devices.

Aereo membership is available to consumers residing in the following counties in Georgia: Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Butts, Carroll, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Fulton, Gilmer, Gordon, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Haralson, Heard, Henry, Jackson, Jasper, Lamar, Lumpkin, Madison, Meriwether, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Rabun, Rockdale, Spalding, Towns, Troup, Union, Upson, Walton and White; Clay County in North Carolina; and Cleburne and Randolph counties in Alabama.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Popular on Engadget