Inductees to 2013 Internet Hall of Fame revealed, class includes 32 new members

Sponsored Links

Inductees to 2013 Internet Hall of Fame revealed, class includes 32 new members

Over the course of the past 12 months, the internet has witnessed negotiations between big-name sites, taken us inside the minds of social media innovators, and even given us a front row seat to what could be the biggest privacy-related story of the decade. Thus, it should come as no surprise that the Internet Society decided to debut its Internet Hall of Fame in April of last year, bringing on influential people like Vint Cerf and Al Gore as part of the first set of inductees. Now, it's time for the Class of 2013 to shine, one which ushers in 32 new members who will join the Father of the Internet and former US Vice President in the list of illustrious names "instrumental in the early design and development" of the web.

This year's individuals include the late Aaron Swartz under the Innovators category and more than 30 others spread across the Pioneer Circles and Global Connectors sections. President and CEO of Internet Society, Lynn St. Amour, tells us this is a way to celebrate the accomplishments of these visionaries, adding that she and her organization are always working with the utopian belief of everyone wanting to "participate fully in making the internet a platform that will continue to encourage innovation, communication, commerce, and social interaction for the benefit of people all around the world." The 2013 Hall of Fame ceremony's due to take place August 3rd in Berlin, Germany, but since we have the inductee list in the PR after the break, that means you won't have to wait until then to find out who made it in.

Show full PR text

Internet Hall of Fame Announces 2013 Inductees

Influential engineers, activists, and entrepreneurs changed history through
their vision and determination

Ceremony to be held 3 August in Berlin, Germany

[Washington, D.C. and Geneva, Switzerland -- 26 June 2013] The Internet Society today announced the names of the 32 individuals who have been selected for induction into the Internet Hall of Fame. Honored for their groundbreaking contributions to the global Internet, this year's inductees comprise some of the world's most influential engineers, activists, innovators, and entrepreneurs.

The Internet Hall of Fame celebrates Internet visionaries, innovators, and leaders from around the world who believed in the design and potential of an open Internet and, through their work, helped change the way we live and work today.

The 2013 Internet Hall of Fame inductees are:

Pioneers Circle – Recognizing individuals who were instrumental in the early design and development of the Internet:

David Clark, David Farber, Howard Frank, Kanchana Kanchanasut, J.C.R. Licklider (posthumous), Bob Metcalfe, Jun Murai, Kees Neggers, Nii Narku Quaynor, Glenn Ricart, Robert Taylor, Stephen Wolff, Werner Zorn

Innovators – Recognizing individuals who made outstanding technological, commercial, or policy advances and helped to expand the Internet's reach:

Marc Andreessen, John Perry Barlow, Anne-Marie Eklund Löwinder, François Flückiger,

Stephen Kent, Henning Schulzrinne, Richard Stallman, Aaron Swartz (posthumous), Jimmy Wales

Global Connectors – Recognizing individuals from around the world who have made significant contributions to the global growth and use of the Internet:

Karen Banks, Gihan Dias, Anriette Esterhuysen, Steven Goldstein, Teus Hagen, Ida Holz, Qiheng Hu, Haruhisa Ishida (posthumous), Barry Leiner (posthumous), George Sadowsky

"This year's inductees represent a group of people as diverse and dynamic as the Internet itself," noted Internet Society President and CEO Lynn St. Amour. "As some of the world's leading thinkers, these individuals have pushed the boundaries of technological and social innovation to connect the world and make it a better place. Whether they were instrumental in the Internet's early design, expanding its global reach, or creating new innovations, we all benefit today from their dedication and foresight."

Last week, the Internet Society announced plans to change the location of its 2013 Internet Hall of Fame awards ceremony, originally scheduled for Istanbul, due to the recent protests and unpredictable environment. The ceremony is now scheduled for 3 August in Berlin, Germany and will also be live streamed at
More details on the 2013 Internet Hall of Fame inductees, including their biographies and photos, can be found at You can follow the Internet Hall of Fame on Facebook and on Twitter at @Internet_HOF.

About the Internet Hall of Fame
The Internet Hall of Fame is an annual awards program that has been established by the Internet Society to publicly recognize a distinguished and select group of leaders and luminaries who have made significant contributions to the development and advancement of the global open Internet. More information on the program can be found at

About the Internet Society
The Internet Society is the trusted independent source for Internet information and thought leadership from around the world. With its principled vision and substantial technological foundation, the Internet Society promotes open dialogue on Internet policy, technology, and future development among users, companies, governments, and other organizations. Working with its members and Chapters around the world, the Internet Society enables the continued evolution and growth of the Internet for everyone. For more information, see:

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Popular on Engadget