Latest in Gaming

Image credit:

Four stories unfold in Muramasa Rebirth's 'Genroku Legends' DLC


Sponsored Links

Muramasa Rebirth, the PS Vita upgrade to Vanillaware's excellent hack-and-slash platformer for the Wii, will receive some additional content starting next year. Through the "Genroku Legends" DLC, Aksys will add a series of four episodes starring four new characters. The DLC was initially announced as a Japan exclusive and will launch there on November 7.

The first episode is called "Fishy Tales of the Nekomata" and centers around a prized tea set that must be delivered to the shogun in Edo. "Fishy Tales" stars Okoi, a woman with cat-like claws, and her feline companion Miike, with whom she can fuse for added abilities.

Okoi will have her own specialized skill tree in lieu of Muramasa Rebirth's forging system where players use gathered souls to craft new weapons. And of course there will be a slew of new bad guys to slay and characters to meet, all of which are inspired by Japanese folklore. Once "Fishy Tales" has been completed, Okoi can go into the base game and take on its bosses.

The four episodes will launch at different times, Aksys tells Joystiq, and will be sold separately. Aksys has yet to determine whether it will offer all four episodes in a bundle, as well as exact pricing for "Genroku Legends."

Show full PR text
Aksys Games is pleased to announce that the long anticipated "Genroku Legends" DLC for Muramasa Rebirth will be arriving in North America starting with "Fishy Tales of the Nekomata" in early 2014! Muramasa Rebirth, the highly-acclaimed PlayStation®Vita handheld entertainment system action RPG, utilizes PlayStation®Vita system's OLED screen to bring the vibrant world of mythical Japan to life! With additional stories, new gameplay, special bosses, and more, "Genroku Legends" will reveal new chapters in the Muramasa Rebirth tale.

About "Genroku Legends"

Featuring entirely new stories set in the Muramasa universe, Genroku Legends (Genroku Kaikitan in Japanese) contains four tales based on Japanese folklore. Players will be able to control four entirely new characters, each with a very different fighting style, ranging from Okoi, who uses her claws to fight, to Gonbe, the farmer with one strong hoe for a weapon! Aksys Games will be releasing all four Genroku Legends tales to the PlayStation®Network both in North America and Europe!

About "Fishy Tales of the Nekomata" – Not Your Ordinary Cat Lady

Tasked with taking a prized tea set to the shogun, Okoi and her brother set out on a journey to Edo. However, Okoi's family's chief retainer will stop at nothing to retake the tea set from Okoi. What once was a simple courier service mission just got a lot more dangerous!

New Weaponry – Unlike Kisuke or Momohime, who use the powerful demon blades to rain death and destruction down on their enemies, Okoi uses her razor-sharp claws as well as a myriad of special powers to claim victory in battle. And by fusing with her companion Miike (mee-ke), she can transform herself in to a truly formidable foe.

Enhance Okoi's Abilities – As Okoi primarily uses her claws to attack her foes, the "Forging" mechanic has been replaced by a skill tree that will allow you to improve and strengthen her various abilities.

Meet New Characters and Fight New Bosses – A host of new characters, enemies, and final bosses are present in Okoi's adventure, as well as her feline compatriot, Miike. The "Fishy Tales of the Nekomata" DLC is chock-full of new foes and evil fiends, all inspired by traditional Japanese folklore!

Go Paw-to-Toe with all of the Bosses – Once players have completed "Fishy Tales of the Nekomata," they can take on all the boss characters in the main Muramasa Rebirth storylines! Test Okoi's prowess against the toughest foes in the game!

From around the web

Page 1Page 1ear iconeye iconFill 23text filevr