Latest in Culture

Image credit:

Europe rules that libraries can lend e-books like normal ones

The sticking point over author compensation has apparently been resolved.
Timothy J. Seppala, @timseppala
November 10, 2016
Share
Tweet
Share

Sponsored Links

Zhang Peng via Getty Images

Europe has ruled (PDF) that e-books can be lent out just like their physical counterparts. That is, as noticed by Ars Technica, one copy can be "checked out" by one person at a time. After the lending period expires, that user can no longer use the book and it goes to the next person who wants it. This might sound kind of expected, but you have to remember that it took until 2014 for the European Union to approve digitizing library books in the first place. And even then, you could only use them within the library's walls and at dedicated terminals.

The sticking point was between the Dutch library association (Vereniging Openbare Bibliotheken) and Stichting Leenrecht, a group that works to ensure authors are compensated for their work. The Court of Justice of the European Union -- essentially Europe's Supreme Court -- is okay with the traditional approach for digital lending assuming that the books were lawfully purchased in the first place.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Comment
Comments
Share
Tweet
Share

Popular on Engadget

Live PlayStation 5 photos reveal a truly giant console

Live PlayStation 5 photos reveal a truly giant console

View
Verizon's $30 Unlimited Plus tablet plan offers 5G access

Verizon's $30 Unlimited Plus tablet plan offers 5G access

View
Microsoft releases a final preview for Windows 10's October update

Microsoft releases a final preview for Windows 10's October update

View
Sony apologizes for botched PlayStation 5 pre-orders

Sony apologizes for botched PlayStation 5 pre-orders

View
Homeland Security warns of a 'critical' security flaw in Windows servers

Homeland Security warns of a 'critical' security flaw in Windows servers

View

From around the web

Page 1Page 1ear iconeye iconFill 23text filevr