Google's Inactive Account Manager secures your digital existence after you kick the bucket

Billy Steele
B. Steele|04.11.13

Sponsored Links

Billy Steele
April 11th, 2013
Google's Inactive Account Manager secures your digital existence after you kick the bucket

If you're worried about what will happen to your mounds of digital data when you pass away, Google has just announced a feature for keeping said libraries secure. The outfit's Inactive Account Manager allows users to set time out periods of three, six, nine or 12 months for inactivity before deleting all of the stored files or having them handed over to a family member or "trusted contact." Those still left roaming the Earth can be granted access to Blogger, Drive, Gmail, Google+ and more without an application process, or they can simply be notified of the situation. Before any predetermined action is taken, the system will beam out a text and an email -- so if you're still around, you can halt matters from progressing further. Set up that digital will via the source links below and or by accessing the Google Account settings page.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Popular on Engadget