It's not a topic we discuss often here, but if you're active online, you may (or may not, ultimately) be concerned with how your data is handled after you die. On Facebook, accounts can be "memorialized" by a friend or family member, with some data remaining visible indefinitely. Previously, after the social network flipped the switch, your remaining content would be accessible only by your friends. Going forward, however, Facebook will match your existing privacy settings, so if your profile was visible to the public, it'll stay that way after you pass. Additionally, friends and family members will be able to request a "Look Back" video, though we'd recommend getting on that now, while there's still time to click the edit button.
Your Facebook privacy settings will now live on after you pass
All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.