Latest in Science

Image credit:

Watch Tim Peake become the first Briton to spacewalk

He'll be joined by NASA astronaut Tim Kopra outside the ISS.
Nick Summers, @nisummers
January 15, 2016
Share
Tweet
Share

Sponsored Links

NASA

At 12:55pm GMT (7:55am ET, or 4:55am PT) British astronaut Tim Peake will step outside the International Space Station (ISS) for the first time. He'll be accompanied by NASA astronaut Tim Kopra and together they'll perform some crucial repair work. The pair's main task is to replace a broken Sequential Shunt Unit (SSU) which transfers power generated by the Station's solar arrays. As the European Space Agency explains, the job needs to be completed within 30 minutes while the ISS passes through the Earth's shadow, as this mitigates the risk of high-voltage sparks.

The SSU can be removed with a single bolt, which means it should be relatively easy to replace. However, complications are always a possibility. Peake says astronauts have found it difficult in the past to turn the screw, most likely because debris has been caught in the thread. "In true The Martian style we (have) fabricated a makeshift tool out of a toothbrush to clear the pinion thread if necessary," he explained on his ESA blog.

Once the operation is complete, Kopra and Peake will move on to a series of lower-priority tasks which include laying cables and reinstalling a valve that was removed as part of the Leonardo module relocation last May. They'll be outside for six hours and 30 minutes in total; NASA's live coverage starts at 11:30am GMT (6:30am ET, or 3:30am PT).

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Comment
Comments
Share
Tweet
Share

Popular on Engadget

T-Mobile’s TVision is a cable-cutting package for its mobile customers

T-Mobile’s TVision is a cable-cutting package for its mobile customers

View
Researchers 3D-printed a cell-sized tugboat

Researchers 3D-printed a cell-sized tugboat

View
This is Harley-Davidson's first electric bicycle

This is Harley-Davidson's first electric bicycle

View
PlayStation 5 first look: At home with Sony’s new console

PlayStation 5 first look: At home with Sony’s new console

View
AfterShokz OpenComm is a bone conduction headset for the Zoom generation

AfterShokz OpenComm is a bone conduction headset for the Zoom generation

View

From around the web

Page 1Page 1ear iconeye iconFill 23text filevr