Latest in Gaming

Image credit:

We're playing 'Splatoon 2's Global Testfire and you should too

Nintendo Switch's competitive shooter gets its first outing today.
Sean Buckley, @seaniccus
March 24, 2017
Share
Tweet
Share

Sponsored Links

Nintendo

You won't be able to buy the follow up to Nintendo's hit Wii U competitive shooter until Summer, but if you have a Switch you can play the game today. Over the course of the next three days, Nintendo will hosting the Splatoon 2 Global Testfire -- an online multiplayer demo that teases gamers with the sequel's levels, weapons and whimsical style in six, one hour chunks. The first two are today at 12pm PT (3pm ET) and 8PM PT (11PM ET).

Nintendo marketed the original Splatoon in almost the exact same way -- by giving Wii U owners a small taste of the game's frantic 1990s inspired battlegrounds a few weeks ahead of the title's launch. Unfortunately, this Testfire is just as limited as the original: if you aren't available during the event's short one-hour stints, you're out of luck. At least there are a lot of options. If you miss today's times, you can try again on March 25th at 4am PT (7am ET), 12pm PT (3pm ET) and 8pm PT (11PM ET) and once more on March 26th at 4am PT (7am ET).

Can't do any of those times? Don't worry. We streamed the first session on Facebook Live to give you a preview of what you can expect when the game launches later this year. Check it out in the player above!

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Comment
Comments
Share
Tweet
Share

Popular on Engadget

'Project Cars 3' trailer has some sim racing fans worried

'Project Cars 3' trailer has some sim racing fans worried

View
Kitty Hawk moves on from its original flying car project

Kitty Hawk moves on from its original flying car project

View
'Call of Duty' developer will further crack down on racist players

'Call of Duty' developer will further crack down on racist players

View
Microsoft's Chromium-based Edge browser rolls out through Windows Update

Microsoft's Chromium-based Edge browser rolls out through Windows Update

View
NBCUniversal’s Peacock launches today: Here’s what you need to know

NBCUniversal’s Peacock launches today: Here’s what you need to know

View

From around the web

Page 1Page 1ear iconeye iconFill 23text filevr