Snapchat’s ‘friend check up’ reminds you to prune your friend list

The app is reminding users it’s for ‘real friends’ only.

Sponsored Links

Karissa Bell
February 9th, 2021
In this article: Snapchat, Snap Inc., Social media, news, gear
ANKARA, TURKEY - SEPTEMBER 12: A photo shows the logo of 'Snapchat' multimedia messaging application on a screen of a smart phone in Ankara, Turkey on September 12, 2018.
 (Photo by Aytac Unal/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images)
Anadolu Agency via Getty Images

Snapchat is introducing a new feature that will remind users to remove unwanted connections from their contact list. The feature, called “friend check up” will encourage users to prune their friend list in the app with a notification that says “Snapchat is for Real Friends.”

Snapchat's new friend check up feature.
Snap

Clicking through the notification will allow users to go through their Snapchat connections and remove people they don’t want or need to be connected with anymore. The feature won’t roll out for several more weeks, but the company is previewing the update now to promote Safer Internet Day.  

It’s not a new sentiment for Snap, which has long billed itself as an app that’s geared more towards close friends rather than a large social graph. But it’s the latest way the company is trying to distance itself from Facebook, which is still grappling with how features like groups fueled a massive disinformation criss.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Popular on Engadget