Rock Band concert tour, chance to humiliate yourself on-stage announced

Part of the appeal of games like Rock Band is that you can play like you're in a band without actually having to go on-stage and risk mass humiliation. Of course, there are those who can't see the line separating failing a song in front of three friends and failing a song in front of 10,000 strangers. For them, MTV has created the Rock Band Live Tour.

Kicking off on October 5 in San Diego, CA, the tour is headlined by Panic at the Disco and Dashboard Confessional, and, as the press release happily exclaims, "possibly you!" Pre-concert Rock Band 2 competitions will be held by local radio stations, national contests, and on-site at each venue, the winners of which will "perform" on-stage in-between sets by opening acts Plain White T's and The Cab. (In addition, MTV has announced that tracks from all of the acts on the tour "minus you!" will be made available in a post-launch DLC pack for Rock Band 2.)

Dashboard Confessional frontman Chris Carraba is quoted in the release, saying, "I'm practicing my Rock Band drumming. With any luck I'll win a spot on stage to show what I can really do." Har-har! Tickets for the tour go on sale at 10:00am local time on Friday, August 8. Check out the full schedule of stops after the break.

Sunday, October 05, 2008
San Diego, CA
San Diego Sports Arena

Wednesday, October 08, 2008
Phoenix, AZ
Jobing.com Arena

Thursday, October 09, 2008
Las Vegas, NV
Hard Rock Outdoors

Friday, October 10, 2008
Los Angeles, CA
Staples Center

Saturday, October 11, 2008
San Jose, CA
SJ Events Center

Sunday, October 12, 2008
Sacramento, CA
Arco Arena

Tuesday, October 14, 2008
Seattle, WA
Everett Event Center

Thursday, October 16, 2008
Salt Lake City, UT
The E Center

Friday, October 17, 2008
Denver, CO
Broomfield Events Center

Saturday, October 18, 2008
Lincoln, NE
Pershing Center

Sunday, October 19, 2008
St. Louis, MO
Scott Trade Center

Tuesday, October 21, 2008
Minneapolis, MN
Target Center

Wednesday, October 22, 2008
Chicago, IL
Allstate Arena

Thursday, October 23, 2008
Detroit, MI
EMU

Friday, October 24, 2008
Toronto, Canada
Arrow Hall

Tuesday, October 28, 2008
Bridgeport, CT
Harbor Yard

Wednesday, October 29, 2008
Lowell, MA
Tsongas Arena

Friday, October 31, 2008
Washington, DC
Patriot Center

Saturday, November 01, 2008
Philadelphia, PA
Spectrum

Sunday, November 02, 2008
Newark, NJ
Prudential Center

Tuesday, November 04, 2008
Atlanta. GA
Gwinnett Center

Thursday, November 06, 2008
Tampa, FL
USF Sundome

Friday, November 07, 2008
Miami, FL
U of Miami - Bank United

Saturday, November 08, 2008
Gainesville, FL
U of F - O Connell Center

Sunday, November 09, 2008
Orlando, FL
UCF Arena

Tuesday, November 11, 2008
Bossier City, LA
Century Tel

Wednesday, November 12, 2008
Dallas, TX
Nokia Theatre

Thursday, November 13, 2008
Austin, TX
Frank Erwin Center

Friday, November 14, 2008
Houston, TX
Reliant Arena

This article was originally published on Joystiq.