If you have your login window set to show the Name and Password fields (as opposed to the "List of users" or auto-login), you will see a window like the one shown above when your Mac first boots, when you logout, or when you change to the login window if you have Fast User Switching enabled.

OS X has supported several "special" login names for a long time. Each is entered into the "Name" field with no password. They are:

>restart
>shutdown
>sleep
>console

You can probably guess what the first three do. The fourth one ">console" will drop you to a shell login prompt, where you can login with your username and password if you want quick access to a shell instead of the full user interface. The restart/shutdown/sleep buttons will only work if you have not turned off to option to show them, but ">console" works regardless of that setting.

The upshot of these settings: if you somehow found yourself using a version of OS X which lacked a "Restart" button on the login window, you could login as ">restart" in order to reboot your Mac.

You can also easily add your contact information to the login screen (as shown above).

This article was originally published on Tuaw.
iTunes could get cloud-based backup solution