Microsoft has made its standalone SmartGlass app for Xbox One available ahead of the console's launch this Friday, November 22. Whether you're on an iPhone or Android device, you can pre-load the app starting right now.

The Xbox SmartGlass app, a free download, mingles with the Xbox One in a variety of ways. You can navigate your Xbox One console, search for content and pin it, browse the web on your TV using your device, get game help, message friends and watch video clips.

We'll be covering the Xbox One extensively up until launch. For our latest coverage, keep an eye on our Xbox One launch page – and be sure to pop back at 12am Eastern tonight (9PM Pacific, 5AM UK) for our full console review.

This article was originally published on Joystiq.

The PS4's 500GB HDD compared with an SSD, SSHD