Latest in Gaming

Image credit:

FIFA Interactive World Cup finalists to play in Berlin on May 24th

Jem Alexander

The fourth annual FIFA Interactive World Cup will soon be coming to an end after lasting an epic seven months. Over 25,000 players competed for a place in the final, but only thirty-two will go through to play each other at the Sony Center in Berlin on May 24th. The winner will then be crowned "FIFA Interactive World Player of the Year." Prestigious, indeed.

Last year's defending champion, Andries Smit, will be competing against the other thirty-one finalists for a cash prize of $20,000 and an invitation to the FIFA World Player Gala 2008. If you're interested, a list of the finalists can be found after the break. If you took part in the competition and didn't make it to the final, then never mind. Perhaps now's a good time to start practicing for next year's FIFA Interactive World Cup.

[Via Press Release]

The thirty-two finalists are as follows:

  • Bjorn Diedricks - South Africa
  • Gwan Hyeong Kim - Korea
  • Sachith Reddy - India
  • Chan Charm Wah - Hong Kong
  • Andries Smit - Netherlands
  • Roland Csaszar - Hungary
  • Christian Lonhart - Denmark
  • Pedro Caiado - Portugal
  • Alex Barets - France
  • Karol Rogaczewski - Poland
  • Alfonso Ramos - Spain
  • Dominik Posch - Austria
  • Ivan Pastyrcak - Slovakia
  • Michael Labelle - USA
  • Davor Brescakovic - Croatia
  • Roberto Garrapa - Italy
  • Ruben Morales Zerecero - Mexico
  • Tunc Polat - Switzerland
  • Buey Siong Tay - Australia
  • Ivan Soberon - Spain
  • Michael Pommer - Australia
  • Max Fayers - England
  • Marko Krivokapic - Germany
  • Abubakr Ebrahim Akhalwaya - South Africa
  • Stephen Coorey - Australia
  • Andre Casagrande Buffo - Brazil
  • Didi Otisi - USA
  • Michael Ribeiro - USA
  • Carl Condliffe - New Zealand
  • Chris Bullard - England
  • Danny Taylor - England
  • Mustafa Agyuez - Germany

From around the web

ear iconeye icontext filevr