Roadmap to Cataclysm zone overhauls

Michael Sacco
M. Sacco|11.06.09

Sponsored Links

Roadmap to Cataclysm zone overhauls
Okay, how did we miss this?

We've been wondering about the level of change in each old-world zone for Cataclysm for months now, and the answer has actually been under our noses since BlizzCon. During the Art Panel, the above planning map was shown, along with some information to either side of it. We can't make out everything in it, but there's a lot of information if you know what you're looking at.

The zone colors, from what we can infer, indicate the level of overhaul each zone is receiving. Red is a heavy overhaul, yellow is moderate, green is light, and blue means a brand-new zone. The yellow stars indicate a dungeon, and the red stars indicate a raid. The white tabs each have a letter on them, indicating what in the zone was being changed at that particular point -- L for level, Q for quests, etc.

Astute readers will see some things jump out at them immediately, like Thousand Needles having two stars on it.

The full list of visible zone changes after the break, along with other pertinent info.

Disclaimer: While this image was captured during the BlizzCon 2009 Art Panel, the capture displays a photo taken by Blizzard staff, which is undated. We don't know if it was a day before BlizzCon 2009 or six months before. Things could have changed between when this picture was taken and when this article was published.

Kalimdor - Major overhaul:
  • Darkshore
  • Azshara
  • Darkwhisper Gorge (Current in Winterspring, becoming its own zone?)
  • The Barrens (South)
  • Stonetalon Mountains
  • Thousand Needles (getting its own instances?)
Eastern Kingdoms - Major overhaul:
  • Stranglethorn Vale (thank heaven)
  • Blasted Lands (a surprise)
Kalimdor - Moderate overhaul:
  • Felwood
  • Ashenvale
  • Durotar
  • The Barrens (North)
  • Desolace
  • Feralas
Eastern Kingdoms - Moderate overhaul:
  • Eastern Plaguelands
  • Wetlands (likely due to the emergence of the Twilight Highlands)
  • Westfall (a surprise)
  • Swamp of Sorrows
Kalimdor - Light overhaul:
  • Moonglade
  • Winterspring
  • Mulgore
  • Dustwallow Marsh
  • Tanaris
  • Silithus
  • Un'goro Crater
Eastern Kingdoms - Light overhaul:
  • Tirisfal Glades
  • Western Plaguelands
  • Silverpine Forest
  • Arathi Highlands
  • Alterac Mountains
  • The Hinterlands
  • Hillsbrad Foothills
  • Duskwood
  • Elwynn Forest
  • Dun Morogh
  • Loch Modan
Overhaul status unknown:
  • Badlands
  • Searing Gorge
  • Burning Steppes
  • Redridge Mountains
  • Deadwind Pass

World of Warcraft: Cataclysm will destroy Azeroth as we know it. Nothing will be the same. In's Guide to Cataclysm you can find out everything you need to know about WoW's third expansion. From Goblins and Worgens to Mastery and Guild changes, it's all there for your cataclysmic enjoyment.
All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Popular on Engadget