Latest in Gaming

Image credit:

Final Fantasy XIV's first jobs and race names revealed

Kyle Horner

New information is dropping rapidly on this game. Now, Final Fantasy XIV's race names and first classes have been revealed. Hmm, maybe those rumors of an earlier than expected beta carried more weight to them than we thought.

If you weren't already aware, the races in Final Fantasy XIV are visually alike to the ones found in Final Fantasy XI so that players from that game feel more at home in the new one. Aside from this, names and lore for each race are completely different. Today, we've got the official new names. Here's the rundown with the Final Fantasy XI names in parenthesis for comparison: Hyuran (Hume), Lalafell (Tarutaru), Elzen (Elvaan), Miqo'te (Mithra) and Roegadyn (Galka).

There are four jobs, each with two subclasses, revealed so far. They are: Fighter (Archer & Swordsman), Sorcerer (Enchanter & Warlock), Crafter (Blacksmith & Cook) and Gatherer (Gardener, Fishermen). Interestingly, it appears that FFXIV may eschew crafting professions for a system that incorporates the feature into jobs. When you couple this with the news of no levels and no experience points, it becomes even more curious.

We think the dev team are really onto something, and 2010 cannot come soon enough.

[via Kotaku]

Gallery: FFXIV First Races and Classes | 6 Photos

From around the web

ear iconeye icontext filevr