Latest in Gaming

Image credit:

Experience the Michael Jackson game's first song list


Ubisoft today announced the first set of tracks licensed for Michael Jackson: The Experience, the multiplatform dance-n'-sing-along game coming this holiday. Only seven cuts deep, the list was accompanied by the publisher's assurance of "many more" -- eh HEE HEE! -- songs to be revealed:
  • "Bad"
  • "Beat It"
  • "Billie Jean"
  • "Earth Song"
  • "The Girl Is Mine"
  • "Who Is It"
  • "Workin' Day And Night"
The Wii Experience is indeed playable for the first time this week at Gamescom, but Ubisoft is focusing its marketing efforts on the company's so-called "proprietary Player Projection" technology -- sham on! -- featured in the Kinect version of the game. As it sounds, and demonstrated in the promo shot above, Player Projection superimposes the player into the game screen via the image captured by the Kinect camera. (It's not be specified whether this common effect will also be featured in the camera-equipped PlayStation Move version of the game.)

If you're hoping to avoid the rather unpleasant experience of falling flat on your face while watching yourself fall flat on your face, then you had best study up on some of MJ's dance tricks. Thankfully, the game will include -- eh hee-hee-hee -- the "Michael Jackson School" mode.

Gallery: Michael Jackson: The Experience (Gamescom 2010) | 2 Photos

Michael Jackson: The Experience is scheduled for a Holiday 2010 release on Wii, Kinect for Xbox 360 and Move for PS3. Rhythmic button-mashing versions of the game will also be released for DS and PSP.

Show full PR text

Fans Attending Gamescom Will Be The First to Play The Game That Lets Them Feel The Magic of The King of Pop

SAN FRANCISCO – August 18, 2010 – Today Ubisoft unveils just a few of the phenomenal songs that players will be able to perform in Michael Jackson The Experience, the video game that will allow players to feel the magic of King of Pop by reliving his most iconic performances through their own singing and dancing. For the first time ever, the Wii™ version of the game will be playable exclusively at the Gamescom consumer and trade show that will take place in Cologne, Germany from August 18th through the 22nd.
Some of Michael Jackson's most famous songs that will be included in the game are:

• Bad
• Beat It
• Billie Jean
• Earth Song
• The Girl Is Mine
• Who Is It
• Workin' Day And Night
• And many more...

The Power of Ubisoft's Player Projection on Kinect™ for Xbox 360®

Developed by Ubisoft Montréal, Michael Jackson The Experience using the sensor for Kinect for Xbox 360, will give fans of the King of Pop the feeling of actually performing in Michael Jackson's shoes. Ubisoft's proprietary Player Projection technology projects the player on-screen and into the game itself, where their body will be tracked so they will see their true movements and steps reproduced in the game. This level of immersion has never been seen before and as players are surrounded by environments inspired by the music videos and live performances of each song, they will truly live the experience. The player's performance will trigger effects, visuals and even the music itself as fans match their talent to that of the greatest artist of all time, whose music, lyrics and stunningly innovative dance moves continue to excite fans in every corner of the world.

From around the web

ear iconeye icontext filevr