Latest in Gaming

Image credit:

Lord of the Rings Online overhauling currencies into a single standard

Eliot Lefebvre

The great thing about token-based currencies, such as those found in Lord of the Rings Online, is that they allow players to acquire rewards based on steady progress rather than on the whims of a random drop. The awful thing is that you can wind up with huge vaults covered in several dozen different currency types, which is also found in Lord of the Rings Online. Fortunately, as the newest developer diary outlines, the currency is being consolidated down and shifted to a very straightforward system with just three reward types: Marks, Medallions, and Seals.

Marks are being used in a manner functionally similar to Skirmish Marks at the moment, while Medallions take the place of higher-end dungeon content and Seals are the best of the best. Players will have most of their currencies automatically converted based on the currency type, although Superior Fourth Marks will need to be manually exchanged for Medallions or Seals at the player's discretion. Players will ultimately have an easier time getting the rewards they need in a straightforward fashion with this update, and that's to the benefit of everyone.

From around the web

ear iconeye icontext filevr