Melee classes get the spotlight in Aura Kingdom reveals

MJ Guthrie
M. Guthrie|10.15.13

Sponsored Links

Melee classes get the spotlight in Aura Kingdom reveals
Melee classes get the spolight in first of Aura Kingdom reveals
You've already heard about some of the lore behind Aura Kingdom, the upcoming free-to-play fantasy game set in an anime-style world. So you know a bit about why you do what you do in the game. But how do you do it? That question is answered in part with the title's first class reveal, which in fact involves three different melee classes.

Players who like to get up close and personal with foes during a fight can play as a tank with the Guardian or a damage-dealer with the Duelist or Ravager. The classes are defined by the weapons they specialize in; the Guardian utilizes sword and board, the Duelist dual-wields daggers, and the Ravager uses a great axe. These class weapons and their accompanying skills are what players will use throughout the beginning part of their journeys, but a secondary weapon can be selected at level 40, and that new class can be leveled up just like the first.

Want to learn more? Take a gander at the classes in the gallery below and check out more details in the full dev blog after the break.

[Source: Aeria Games press release]
Role: Tank; Weapon: Sword and Shield
For a Guardian, armor and a shield are every bit as much a weapon as the shining swords they wield. Because they're able to take the kinds of big hits that would KO others, Guardians can place themselves in position for the perfect counterstrike or allow teammates to focus their energies on all-out attacks. Being the defensive backbone of parties comes with heavy responsibilities, but Guardians rest easy in the strategic soundness of both their offense and defense.

Role: Damage; Weapon: Dual Blades
With twin daggers in hand, Duelists engage their enemies fearlessly in one-on-one combat. They rely on their quick reflexes and acrobatic skills to outwit and outmaneuver their foes. Duelists must always think on their feet two or three steps ahead of their opponent, for their advantage lies in anticipation and reaction. They can coat their blades with poison or elemental energy to deliver keen strikes where an enemy is weak or deal a sudden burst of damage to quickly dispatch a foe.

Role: Damage; Weapon: Great Axe
With a thundering roar, Ravagers burst onto the battlefield swinging giant axes of destruction. These wild warriors, with their take-no-prisoners philosophy, serve up brutal chops that can stun or bleed enemies. The swing of Ravagers' attacks is so broad and the impact so powerful that many of their skills damage not only the target but surrounding foes as well, helping them demolish clusters of enemies with amazing speed.

Aeria's official dev blog

Hi everyone! With our first round of class reveals this week, we'd like to go a little more in-depth about how classes function in Aura Kingdom as a whole. Our classes differ a bit from what one might normally expect in a traditional MMO in that they are defined first and foremost by weapon choice. For example, if you are a Duelist, you are essentially creating a character that will specialize in wielding dual daggers. If you are a Ravager, you will become proficient in wielding a great axe.

While players will use their chosen class' weapon (and the skills that come with it) for the beginning chapters of their journey, a whole new world of potential is unlocked at level 40. At this point you'll be able to select a secondary weapon normally wielded by one of the remaining classes. You can then train up your character with the secondary weapon the same way you did with your primary. Though your secondary weapon skills start from scratch, you will eventually become just as competent with them as your main hand weapon. We want character roles in Aura Kingdom to be fairly specialized while still affording you a good amount of late-game versatility. You will accumulate knowledge from your observations of other players and the ways they face challenges throughout the realms of Azuria. By the time you are level 40, you will then be able to make an informed decision on what you want your secondary role to be. And if you still want to try something new, there's always the ability to reset your secondary weapon choice to a different one!

Thanks for reading, and stay tuned for our next blog on the class skill system!
All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Popular on Engadget