PSN to undergo maintenance today

Before PSN returns in full force this week, we must relinquish our ability to play online games one more time. The UK PlayStation site reports that the service will be down for maintenance from 4:30 PM GMT today (12:30 PM EST) until 7:01 AM GMT Thursday (3:01 AM EST). If you do want to keep playing online, though, you'll have to make sure that you're signed in to the service before they pull the plug today.

Sony hasn't announced anything for other regions, but if there's one thing we feel safe about assuming, it's a PSN outage. And if it results in renewed PlayStation Store functionality, we are prepared to sit one more day out.

This article was originally published on Joystiq.