The International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA) announced the nominees for composers demonstrating "excellence in musical scoring" in 2013. The annual awards ceremony includes a gaming category, Best Original Score for a Video Game or Interactive Media, in which five games and their respective composers are nominated this year: Assassin's Creed 4 composer Brian Tyler is also among four others nominated for the Composer of the Year award, in addition to a nomination for Best Original Score for an Action/Adventure/Thriller Film for his work on Iron Man 3. Tyler also composed the soundtrack for Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel.

Previous winners of the Best Original Score for a Video Game award include Austin Wintory's music for Journey (2012), Joe Hisaishi's composition for Ni No Kuni (2011) and the Castlevania: Lords of Shadow music composed by Oscar Araujo (2010). The IFMCA will announce this year's winners on February 20.
[Image: Ubisoft]

This article was originally published on Joystiq.