Latest in Facebook

Image credit:

Facebook test lets users schedule when a post will be deleted

Billy Steele
09.10.14
24 Shares
Share
Tweet
Share

Sponsored Links

It's certainly nothing new for Facebook to test new features amongst a limited number of users before a widespread rollout, or killing them entirely (it did ask for willing participants, after all). With its latest trial, the social network is trying out an option in its iOS app that allows you to schedule when a post will delete. Taking a cue from its own ephemeral offering Slingshot, the feature will sort the erasing after a period ranging from one hour up to a week. As The Next Web points out, posts deleted from your profile can remain on Facebook servers for up to 90 days via offline backups and logs -- rather than being completely deleted immediately.

Source: The Next Web
In this article: facebook, internet, socialmedia, software, test
All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Comment
Comments
Share
24 Shares
Share
Tweet
Share

Popular on Engadget

Google is ending its Station free public WiFi program

Google is ending its Station free public WiFi program

View
Amazon's Fire tablets for kids are back to their lowest-ever pricing

Amazon's Fire tablets for kids are back to their lowest-ever pricing

View
'State of Decay 2' is getting a major free update

'State of Decay 2' is getting a major free update

View
The Morning After: The Galaxy Z Flip's glass screen isn't as tough as we thought

The Morning After: The Galaxy Z Flip's glass screen isn't as tough as we thought

View
Adam Savage turned Spot the robodog into a creepy rickshaw driver

Adam Savage turned Spot the robodog into a creepy rickshaw driver

View

From around the web

Page 1Page 1ear iconeye iconFill 23text filevr